My Generation: Katrina hits Hawaii

Honolulu, Hawaii, paradise of the U.S.!


What do you think is the most exciting thing about living in Hawaii?

The beach is always five minutes away! Since Hawaii is a great melting pot of different cultures and people, the food is honestly the best you can get anywhere in the United States. The people are so chill and really friendly. Because of the AMAZING weather we have all year round, it’s always a great day to do something outside. You can usually find me hiking, swimming, fishing with my brothers, or sitting on the beach when I’m home.

Is there anything related to environmental awareness or sustainability worth sharing?

Each house is provided with a free recycling bin and compost bin. As of right now Honolulu is in the process of developing a transportation plan for public rail. The public transit by bus is pretty intricate and very accessible.  Hawaii also has a can and bottle deposit for every can and bottle bought. You can get that deposit back when you take your cans to a recycling center.

Is there one thing that you do in your daily life that can be attributed to sustainability?

I like to recycle and I try to buy local products and produce when I can. I like to eat organic food. I ride public transit everywhere and I use a tote bag at the grocery store to cut down on plastic. Just recently, I installed a low flow shower head and have put a water bottle in the tank of my toilet to reduce water.  My boyfriend is incredibly sustainable and gives me great tips on how to be more “green” in my daily activities. He’s going to save the world one day. ❤

Why do you think Sustainability or environmental awareness is so important to our generation?

I feel as though we are at a time in our life, our generation, in the earth’s history, that we will not have enough natural resources abundantly available to sustain the earth’s human population. Biodiversity is dramatically decreasing and I don’t think people understand that variation in our ecosystems is incredibly important.  It affects ALL aspects of our lives. The extinction of one species can lead to the extinction of a hundred more species, and the repopulation of a species is expensive and risky.

What degree, have you received or are currently seeking, or what field of work are you looking to jump into? I am currently seeking a degree in Biology, and I’m hoping to enter the field of medicine.

If you could travel to one place in the world where would it be, and why? I would travel to Paris, France because it is the city of romance, and I am a hopeless romantic at heart. I’m also a huge sucker for bread. Caaaaarrrrbs.

If you could be one animal in the world what would it be? I would be a hippo because they are quite possibly the cutest un-cute animals EVER. They’re fat and spend a good amount of time lounging around in the water, but they are ridiculously vicious as well. I’m basically a hippopotamus in human form now.

Leave a Reply

