My Generation: Erica Invades Japan

Where do you live currently Erika?

Japan since Sept 2009.

What do you think is the most exciting thing about Japan?!
I think that one really exciting thing about living here is its sheer size. It’s overwhelming at times, with buildings for miles and miles.

As far as environmental awareness goes…does Japan do anything in particular?
The public transportation system here is, in my opinion, really well organized and is easy to use. There are trains, subway systems, buses, bullet trains, and cabs. Almost all highways have tolls on them and parking is ridiculous so it’s really not worth having a car unless you work weird hours or live in the countryside.

Is there one thing that you do in your daily life that can be attributed to sustainability?
I do my best to eat locally (this is hard since few produce items are labeled), have a constant eye on my seafood watch app, carry around my own chopsticks so I don’t have to use the disposable ones, carry around a tumbler (for coffee and water) and of course, I recycle!

Why do you think Sustainability or environmental awareness is so important to our generation? Sustainability is the only way to assure that we are able to maintain our standard of living. In my opinion, it’s the only responsible way to live. One quote that I really like by Antoine St-Exupery is “You do not inherit the earth from your ancestors: you borrow it from your children.” The only way to ensure that we have a future is to ensure that we are taking care of the earth and all of the organisms on it. I think that people often forget that we’re not the only inhabitants of the earth, just the most selfish.

What degree, have you received or are currently seeking, or what field of work are you looking to jump into? I have a Bachelor in Science in General Biology, and spent most of my senior year taking classes on the environment and sustainability. I’m teaching right now and am still trying to figure out what I want to do with my life after this.

If you could travel to one place in the world where would it be, and why?
I would go to Iceland- have you seen their tourism ads?


If you could be one animal in the world what would it be?

Does it have to be an animal? What about algae? Fine. I’d be a chipmunk.

Want to see what else Erica is doing in Japan? Check out her blog!

Leave a Reply

